Services

Since its foundation in 1986, with evolving members and clients, ROMEL has been constantly working on expanding its services to the community. Today, the organization has more than 45 members and has developed an expertise in various areas:
 

* Community Real Estate and the Technical Resources Group
The Technical Resources Group (GRT) includes a team of project managers and research leaders, experienced in the field of community real estate, who together have contributed to the creation of more than 1100 social housing units since the early 90’s.
  • While the scope of development extends over the island of Montreal, ROMEL has achieved projects in and about: Côte-des-Neiges (CDN), Notre-Dame-de-Grace (NDG), Villeray/ St. Michel/ Parc-Extension, St. Laurent, Lachine, Montréal North, Rivière-des-Prairies/ Pointe-aux-Trembles, Ahuntsic/ Cartierville, Grenville and Pierrefonds.
  • ROMEL has broadened its challenges by reaching to groups of parents wishing to develop Childcare Centers. Consequently, it works closely with the "Association des Groupes de Ressources Techniques du Québec (AGRTQ)", as well as the three other GRTs operating in Montreal.

* PropertyManagement and Querbes Management Corporation
  • ROMEL provides comprehensive services in the fields of property management, the purchase and conversion of housings, including their repairs or renovation.
  • "Société de Gestion Querbes (SGQ)" is well equipped with a state of the art information system and a supporting, multidisciplinary team able to effectively manage several projects simultaneously.
  • "Société de Gestion Querbes (SGQ)" is managing over 800 residential units in different Montreal neighbourhoods

* Transition Homes
ROMEL offers temporary shelter for those in need at its Transition Homes located at the following locations:

1) 11977 Poincaré Street (for men)- 28 units
2) 3429 Prud’homme (for women)- 15 units

* Housing Research and Data Bank
On the island of Montréal, there are hundreds of apartments and households available for rent at any point in time. ROMEL assists prospective tenants to find adequate housing that meets their needs. This Data Bank is also available for refugee claimants referred to ROMEL by the immigration department (Le Ministère de l'Immigration et des communautés culturelles du Québec) MICC.

* Diversified Training Sessions
ROMEL offers training services in the following areas: important information when searching for an apartment, caution against discrimination, lease and insurance contracts, rights and obligations of social housings, real-estate management in a multiethnic environment, the Rental Board and the Tenants’ Committee, programs related to private housing ownership, etc.

* Communication Tools
ROMEL has produced many informational tools on a variety of topics in several languages, such as our guides:  `Looking for a Place to Live` and  `Civic Participation`, As well as pamphlets answering concerns related to housing, and powerful thematic tools that animators use to introduce the various social housing programs offered.

* Community Services
ROMEL supports victims of discrimination, organizes effective awareness campaigns with various partners, holds continual door-to-door visits to inspect early signs of deterioration, assists clients in their procedure with the Housing Board (Régie du Logement), as well as in applying for the rent supplement program, rent allowance applications amongst others.

* Innovative Projects
ROMEL is in constant development of new services related to housing, such as: Land Trust Community, Loan Fund, Working Cooperative in renovation construction, `First Door` Pilot Project, and initiatives in `Residential Integration`.

NOS SERVICES

Depuis 1986, le ROMEL et ses services ont évolué tout comme ses membres et leur clientèle. Il compte aujourd'hui plus de 45 membres et ses services sont diversifiés:
 

* L'immobilier communautaire et le Groupe de Ressources Techniques (GRT):
Le GRT du ROMEL est une équipe de chargés de projets et de développement spécialisés dans le domaine d'immobilier communautaire. Depuis 1990 jusqu'à présent, le GRT a réalisé un total de plus de 1,100 unités de logement communautaire et social.
  • Nous avons réalisé jusqu'à présent des projets dans : Côte-des-Neiges, Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, Parc Extension, Saint-Michel, Saint-Laurent, Lachine, Montréal-Nord, Pointe-aux-Trembles, Rivière-des-Prairies, Ahuntsic/Cartierville et Pierrefonds; alors que notre champ d'intervention s'étend à la grandeur de l'île de Montréal.
  • Le ROMEL s'est donné une autre mission qui est de venir en aide aux groupes de parents qui désirent développer des Centres de la Petite Enfance (CPE). Pour s'y faire, le GRT du ROMEL collabore étroitement avec l'Association des Groupes de Ressources Techniques du Québec (AGRTQ) et les trois autres GRT qui oeuvrent sur l'île de Montréal.

* La gestion immobilière et la Société de Gestion Querbes
  • Le ROMEL Offre des services de gestion immobilière adaptée, achat et conversion de logements, et un service de réparation et de rénovation. Présentement la société de gestion gère plus de 800 unités de logement en collaboration étroite avec la SHDM, la SHQ et des organismes communautaires.
  • La société de gestion s'est équipée d'un système informatique à la fine pointe de la technologie et d'une équipe multidisciplinaire capable de gérer efficacement plusieurs projets en même temps.

* Les Maisons d'hébergement:
Offre des chambres d'hébergement temporaire pour les personnes sans toit à travers les deux points de services suivants:

1) 11977 rue Poincaré, maison pour les hommes ( 28 logements)
2) 3429 Prud'homme, maison pour les femmes (15 logements

* La banque et la recherche de logements:
Offre en location, sur l'île de Montréal, des centaines de logements inspectés et aide les ménages locataires à se trouver un logement adéquat.Cette banque de logement est mise également à la disposition des demandeurs d'asile référés au ROMEL par le Ministère de l'immigration et des communautés culturelles (MICC)

* Les séances de formation à la carte:
Offre des services de formation sur divers sujets: La Recherche d'un logement, La Discrimination, Le Bail et les Assurances, Le Logement Social, La Gestion Immobilière dans un milieu multiethnique, La Régie du Logement et les Comités de Locataires, les programmes d'accès à la propriété privée ...

* Les communications:
Produit divers outils d'information sur des sujets variés en plusieurs langues: ¨Guide Comment se loger?", des dépliants qui traitent de différents sujets reliés au logement, un guide de "Participation Civique", des outils d'animation pour des intervenants tel que: un vidéo thématique et des fiches techniques sur la vie dans un HLM.

* Les services communautaires:
Soutien aux victimes de discrimination; organisation, avec divers partenaires, de campagnes de sensibilisation; visites porte à porte pour combattre la détérioration des logements, rédaction de textes pour les clients devant se présenter à la Régie du logement, aide pour compléter les formulaires de supplément au loyer et l'allocation loyer.

* Les projets novateurs:
Développement de nouveaux services en habitation: Fiducie Foncière communautaire, Fond d'emprunt, Coopérative de travail en construction rénovation, projet pilote "Première porte"; initiative "habitation intégration", projet "Harmonie"...